Sir D Speaks to Mixxi!

Posted: February 27, 2012 in Down Right Awsome

Remember Mixxi from Sweden? Always a pleasure to watch her talent on You Tube http://www.youtube.com/user/xXMusicMixxiXx

It was about time I interviewed this young talented lady to see what her story was. A great person and stunning musician.

Dee: At what point did you realise that singing is what you wanted to do?
Mixxi: I always wanted to sing. When I was 4 I wanted to be a popstar. When I was 14 that changed to rock star, but I always about singing. Music is my life.

Dee: I love the fact that your able to experiment with genres. Who would you say then are your greatest influences?

Mixxi: Hard to say. I listen to a lot of music and look up to a lot of people. But since hardcore and metal are closest to my heart, Anissa and Alexia from Eyes Set To Kill have made great inpact on my life.

Dee: People are able to see your amazing talent via your You Tube Channel. When you uploaded the first ever song – how did you feel?

Mixxi: First song I ever uploaded was for this band who was looking for a singer. I didn’t get in, but then the good feed back came in from people on the internet and I liked it. Making videos is not only a lot of fun, it’s good practice too.

Dee: You do quite alot of covers – but what do you think gives each song you sing the Mixxi edge?!

Mixxi: I guess it’s that I try to do every song in my way. My voice fits much better doing jazz and soul, so the fact that I sing rock and alternative on my channel mixes it up a little.


Dee: You have a solo show coming up in May this year, what type of goals have you set yourself to get ready for this fantastic event?

Mixxi: The show is a school project and my main goal is to perform 7-10 songs I’ve written myself.

Dee: Which gives you the most pleasure – creating the You Tube videos or singing live in front of a crowd?

Mixxi: I love all the feed back I get online, but there is nothing that compares to the feeling you get standing on stage. It really is the best feeling ever!

Dee: Its thanks to you, that I got into so many great swedish artists such as Adept, Chemical Vocation, Bedwetters and Social Siberia. How does it feel to know that one day soon you could be part of that list of great musicians to come out of your country?!
Mixxi: Thank you! But I wouldn’t count on it. And since I’ll be moving as soon as I graduate, you shouldn’t either.

Dee: Take me through your daily routine, when it comes to balancing your music with your everyday life?
Mixxi:Because I study music and have some sort of music realted lesson every day, they kind of go hand in hand.

Dee: How important is music to your life?
Mixxi: Music is my life.

Dee: Mixxi, your voice and your talent will always amaze me. How do you think your confidence has grown over the years?!

Mixxi: Obviously, I’ve gotten better, but I still have a long way to go. I’m really hard on my self, so it’s hard to be confident. Still, in the past year I’ve had a few solos at school events and gotten more subscribers, so at least my confidence is on a rise.

Dee: What other plans have you got in store for the rest of the year?

Mixxi: Number 1 is start playing in a band! And go abroad, get a job and start playing bass.
Leave a Reply

