Lazer Sword Release ‘Memory’ 30th April 2012

Posted: March 10, 2012 in New Music

Lazer Sword Release ‘Memory’ 30th April 2012

Review by Dee

Its been a while since I told you about some of EPM’s fantastic artists. Here at Darkus Magazine, I like to make people aware of the new music that exists in other genres as well. My good friend Jonas at EPM has always been opening my eyes to some of his labels fantastic artists, all of whom are refreshing, unique and addictive as any other genre.

 The latest artist Jonas referred me to was Lazer Sword and their album Memory. Before going any further what do we know about Lazer Sword?

 There was a time when being a member of Lazer Sword was a lot more convenient. Back in 2006, Antaeus Roy (a.k.a. Lando Kal) and Bryant Rutledge (a.k.a. Low Limit) were a couple of San Francisco beatheads who lived together, worked at XLR8R, and bonded over a shared love of underground hip-hop and a desire to experiment with electronic sounds.

  In 2012, the seasoned artists now find themselves living on separate continents, asRoynow callsBerlinhome while Rutledge has settled inLos Angeles.

 In the aftermath of the duo’s 2010 debut full-length, Lazer Sword, it would have been easy for Roy and Rutledge to pack it in and simply focus on their solo careers—in case you missed it,

 Royspent much of 2011 dropping singles for the likes of Rush Hour and Hotflush. Instead, they’ve soldiered on, teamed up with Modeselektor’s Monkeytown imprint, and put together Memory, an accomplished 11-track effort that is without a doubt the best thing Lazer Sword has ever done.

 So that’s just some of the facts……now for the album itself! Memory is unlike anything I have heard before, but at the same time there is something about the tracks on this album which fascinates me and draws me in. ‘Sky Burial’ the opening track gives me goose bumps but for good reasons. I like how the track is filled with a certain degree of mystery which keeps you hooked.

 It would be hard to give this album a specific genre except to call it a fusion of electro, techno and a touch of the experimental. ‘Missed A Spot’ is one of my favourite tracks on this album. The beats are smooth and slick, and keep me captivated throughout. I am usually listening to screamo, pop punk or metal, but listening to this makes me want to learn more about Lazer Sword.

 Excuse me for sounding a bit cliché here, but I would probably say what the future of music sounded like, I would definitely have no reservations with knowing that Lazer Sword are part of this future.

 The music is just so masterfully put together, Points of Return definitely shows these two geniuses at their best. I just want to listen to track again and again, and each time I listen it just fills me with energy!

 My absolute favourite track from the Memory album that I recommend anyone to check out has to be without a doubt, ‘Sounds Sane’. This is no track for the faint hearted, its totally grown up. This song got into my head that much that I didn’t want it to stop. I could imagine myself listening to this track anywhere and anytime! The pace of the song is well balanced, with a slow steady start, then when you get to the heart of the music the track steps it up a couple of notches making you even more amazed.

 You can go into a club and listen to any ol bit of music, but if you want music that is filled with character, style, and total maturity – Lazer Sword is where the answer lies.

Leave a Reply

