Fearless Vampire Killers: 12th June 2012

Posted: July 5, 2012 in New Music

Article By Dee

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The British music scene just keeps leaving me speechless at the moment, especially as there is such amazing new talent out there who are showing the rest of the music industry just how having determination and passion can create amazing results. The latest new band for me to come across were, Fearless Vampire Killers when they came to Newcastle earlier this month as part of the William Control UK tour.

 I have not heard any of their music before this night, but I had heard that theNewcastlemusic scene had great support for them, so I needed to see the guys for myself and see what made them so special. Now usually the structure of my reviewing and interviewing is like this – watch a band perform first or at the very least check out the internet for some of their material and then request an interview. In theory that’s what should usually happen, but for once I wanted to improvise and decided to interview first.

 I was blessed to be able to speak to three members of this intriguing band, Shane, Lawrence and Drew. I was basically using this as an opportunity to learn more about Fearless Vampire Killers, so even though I try to avoid the subject, I was fascinated to know where the name of the band had originated from.Lawrenceexplained to me that this was a named based on his favourite childhood film. Rather than choosing just any name however the band also wanted to create a name which caused a reaction as well.

 When asked for their type of influences – they informed me that it was mainly revolved around the likes of Danny Elfman and Tim Burton style films. Drew described themselves as a gothic, classic band – withLawrenceadding to the conversation “Like A circus – full of surprises and fun”.

 Before I go any further, just think for a moment. You see your favourite band perform and not only playing with them but actually joining them as a fully established member happens. At first you would think this would be impossible – however this is not so my dears. Being a mahoosive fan of Fearless Vampire Killers, it was like a plan come true when Drew was able to join the band. His inclusion in the band would have been much sooner, but asLawrenceexplained this was due to Drew already being in another band named, Plan 9.

 Looking at these three guys sat in front of me it was obvious that they loved being in each others company, so as I ask any band I wanted to know what the chemistry was like between all the members. Having grown up together when on stage for the first time the chemistry was instantLawrencetells me. Also the fact that they had known one another at an early stage meant that they had always felt close.

 Getting the basics out the way, it was time to move the interviewing onto the currentUKtour with William Control. The guys told me when they received notification of the tour, they were really happy to know that they were going to be playing with William Control. Being a follower since the days of Aiden, not only was William there as the headliner on the tour, but he was also their where Fearless Vampire Killers needed any advice. Its such a great thing to hear about bands on a tour not just supporting on stage but off stage too.

 When an artist or a band are playing on a tour there is another important aspect we as listeners should not forget. Yes it’s a joy for us to hear and see our favourite bands perform right in front of us, but have you ever wondered what the artist’s themselves want to achieve by touring? The answer is so simple, as Lawrence, Shane and Drew told me the most valuable thing was to spread the name Fearless Vampire Killers and also be able to play to a mixture of old followers and new fans.

 Time was ticking on, and as much as I love interviewing I had to draw the questions to an end, but not without slipping in one more query. What goes through their head just before they go on stage to perform? All three were quite open and said apart from the usual hugs, and sword fights (that would be Drew btw), the main thought pattern was to play a good show and to think positively.

 Interview over, me and photographer Kate Hollamby headed back outside as we waited for the gig to officially start. Taking place in the nice and snug A2 over at the Academy, the first band to take to the stage was Rossi Noise. Based inNewcastle, this is a band I have always heard positive reviews about but leading the hectic life I do, I always seem to miss them. Therefore it was an absolute delight to be able to see them for the first time.

 The role of the first band is important, because in some sense I believe it’s the energy they create that dictates how insane the vibe is for the rest of the show. Rossi Noise therefore not only delivered such an electrifying performance but their material was experimental, daring and most of all fecking brilliant. Local new talent is such a priceless thing when it’s done with the same level of maturity, dedication and energy that Rossi Noise showed me in their set. It may not have been a necessarily long set, but it was long enough to convince me that they are certainly a strong contender in the north east music scene.

 Taking a bit of a walk – as I needed to get a breath of fresh air, I returned to the A2 to watch Fearless Vampire Killers. Never ever did I expect to listen to a band for the very first time, and my mind be blown to the next level like FVK did. Wow!!!! Firstly people will know anything related or based around a Tim Burton feel and I am instantly screaming with hyperness inside my head. This is not the only reason for being totally in love with FVK however.

 Performance wise the guys perform with such passion and energy during every song. The audience are drawn in and dancing away – and yes that does include me too! Now I am a fan of bands such as I Am Ghost and Chiodos, so if you like those two bands then you will certainly love Fearless Vampire Killers.

 However what I would also add to this is that FVK as modest as they may have been in the interview should be absolutely pleased with how they are progressing as a band. They have put a lot of hard work and care into this band, and I can certainly see them getting stronger and stronger to the point where it would be a crime to miss out on such an amazing British band.

 I started the day not knowing anything about Fearless Vampire Killers, but it ended with me thirsty for more of their material. Well done guys, Thanks for an Amazing Night!!!!

Leave a comment